I hope it was worth the wait.

 

I’m sure you folks remember Frankie Fortune. He made a one-time appearance at our opening yesterday and the reception was pretty marvelous!

It’s quite a bizarre sensation sitting inside a bin, and I still find it remarkable I actually fit inside. When it came time to wheel it out it apparently drew quite a crowd. Although I couldn’t see it, I’m fuelled by the fantasies that everyone collectively turned their heads and ran to see the latest attraction. Even though I was there, it’s a shame I didn’t get to see it. I could hear it though, and it sounded brilliant. Rob was also a trooper for dedicating as much time as he did to filming me, so I’ll refrain from expressing my hatred for filming in portrait.

But I have learned a few lessons from my performance that I need to remember for next time. Most importantly, bring a spare shirt. Its awfully fucking stuffy in there and I came out creased, sweaty and drenched in condensation. I was planning to stay in for at least 40 minutes but I would have melted had I decided to do so.

Once I was wheeled away to cool down and drench myself in Crabbies, I really wanted to be back out there doing my shit, but I’m fond of the ‘one time only’ thing. To those that missed it, well… It was on the posters. Sorry, maybe next time.

The whole opening was pretty great though. I wanted to talk about it when we started on Monday and show some of the posters I made but I’ve not had the time it’s been that busy. Basically, we were offered a week at a local gallery/art space which we could do whatever the fuck we want with on the condition we are don’t use their name and are not affiliated with them. We ordered pizzas, had a semi-piss up and some folk stayed overnight. Heck, one lass even pitched a tent in there! So much went on that it would be hard to sum it all up but its been a good week.

I’m gonna keep Frankie alive for now, and after summer I’ll try and get the ball rolling even more. Man, what I would give for a collaboration with the Bucket Man…

I’ll just leave some pictures of the bin thing below. I’d show some of the others from the show but they’re not my photographs and I don’t know if they’d really want me to. So I’ll just show you some of stuff which mine is in. You can also see the poster I made! I was pretty fucking chuffed with them posters.

Leave a comment